Tragic: 35% of Women Will Have An Abortion

January 25, 2011

Check out this story. This is sad on so many levels. We cannot change this by attempting to change the laws. We need to change the government of hearts: people need to accept the King that is Jesus. There is such a need for the gospel out there. Laws are a reflection of the people. Culture is defined by cult. Change hearts and laws will change, people will change, and this horror will subside.

6 Responses to “Tragic: 35% of Women Will Have An Abortion”

  1. Beth Battista Says:

    This is heartbreaking. I volunteer at a crisis pregnancy center…have been there for 18 years…and I see these poor girls that view abortion as a form of birth control. That is what they have been told for so long, they do not even question the immorality. I think it is, if it’s legal, it must be OK. It is our generation’s holocaust. So very sad.

  2. Mary Says:

    It is interesting, sad really, that “Catholic women account for more than 31% of all abortions in the US while 18% are performed on women who identify themselves as born-again Christians or evangelicals”. If polled on their opinion of abortion, I wonder if these woman would say they are pro-life or pro-choice?

    • W. Vida Says:

      Hi Mary,

      Yes that is sad. I think there are a couple things going on there.

      I think that there is always a danger in taking someone’s faith as they self report it. In other words, I think that there are a lot of cultural catholics who rarely if ever attend church but still consider themselves catholic if asked. The same is true (but less so) for ‘born again Christians’ (especially in the south where it is culturally normal to be born again).

      What I don’t think this means is that teaching does not matter. I have seen studies (and maybe I will post one) that show that the more one attends church the less likely one is to have an abortion.

      There is a quote by Chris Coulson that I love. “Christianity doesn’t make one perfect…just better.” I would guess that the overwhelming majority of those who had abortions have not been to church in a long time. This is another reason we need to continue evangelism and outreach.

  3. Steven Says:

    “YHWH spoke to Moses, saying,”Say to the people of Israel, Any one of the people of Israel or of the strangers who sojourn in Israel who gives any of his children to Molech shall surely be put to death. The people of the land shall stone him with stones. I myself will set my face against that man and will cut him off from among his people, because he has given one of his children to Molech, to make my sanctuary unclean and to profane my holy name. And if the people of the land do at all close their eyes to that man when he gives one of his children to Molech, and do not put him to death, then I will set my face against that man and against his clan and will cut them off from among their people, him and all who follow him in whoring after Molech.” Leviticus 20:1-5

  4. Steven Says:

    “There shall not be found among you anyone who burns his son or his daughter as an offering” Deuteronomy 18:10

  5. Mary Says:

    Hmmm. I think that in this verse Moses is referring to witchcraft, not abortion, Steven. “There shall not be found among you any one that maketh his son or his daughter to pass through the fire, or that useth divination, or an observer of times, or an enchanter, or a witch. Or a charmer, or a consulter with familiar spirits, or a wizard, or a necromancer.”


Leave a Reply

